Sometimes You Gotta Run

Last week, while waiting on the bus, a young lady was walking towards a bus that had pulled off. The driver saw her, but was clearly going to keep going. An older woman, sitting next to me, said the most profound thing I’d heard in a while. Her voice quaked out in the direction of the sauntering young girl carrying shopping bags, she belted, “Honey, sometimes you gotta run for it. If they see you want it enough, they’ll stop for you.”

Of course, she was referring to the bus that was slowing down, but I could apply that to all areas of my life. Right now, I’m having the hardest time with being a consistent blogger and writer. Of course I want to be successful at it, but I’ve been getting in my own way; putting people and other pieces of work in front of my own work. Even when I have time, I find myself not “running for it”.

I haven’t been running for that deeper connection with Christ,

or the physical well-being I so desire,

or balance,

or patience,

or complete wholeness.

But in order to obtain it, I have to give it to God first. That’s the key.

In giving it to God, I’m not saying, “Here, God, you can have it.” I’m saying, “Father, this is my plan, if it pleases you, please help me do XYZ.”

I can’t make any idle promises, but I know that in order to get to the level that God has for me, I must run in the direction of my goals. No one will assist me in getting there unless I show the passion and determination. Besides, if I don’t run for it, I might miss the last opportunity available.

That woman on the bus stop doesn’t know what kinda fire she ignited in me. Sure, if I miss a bus, there’s another one coming in about fifteen minutes, but what if the last bus was the last bus?

I must prepare and plan prayerfully and purposefully to accomplish my goals.

Running for it…

Sepia

Tagged , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Sometimes You Gotta Run

  1. […] week was as in need of motivation as mine was, check out these posts: Sepia explains why “Sometimes You Gotta Run.” Haley asserts “Knowledge is Power” over on Green Plate Dinners. Haley also […]

  2. Saul_E_Adwele says:

    It’s funny sometimes were inspirations will come from….So keep Running for it… because in life there will be peaks & valleys…. When you find yourself in the valley, keep your mind on the peaks – Stay encouraged, and know that an incline is just around the bend. ♥ it may even seem like miles away, but when you get there… you can look back at the valleys and peaks and say “thank you”

Leave a Reply

