Sepia in NYC

Last week I returned from my first second love, New York. I stayed in Harlem and didn’t spend nearly as much time with my second first love, Brooklyn.

The highlight of my trip was probably getting to eat and just enjoy some “me” time in the city. I bought a super cute bow (in the first picture below) and even got a super deal on a vintage dress (I’ll post about it later).

 

On my last day there, I met up with one of my readers (and a great writer) Saul. We have been in contact for quite some time and since we were in the same city, I decided to chat face-to-face.  Fun times!

Overall, it was a relaxing trip. I mostly ate, caught up with Gigi, talked to Rumple a few times a day, walked around aimlessly… Nothing major.

 

Check out a few pictures from my trip.

 

Chillin at Gigi's place in Harlem.

 

Ethiopian food for lunch! Soooo yummy. (I know it looks like mush, but you have to experience it to understand)

Lido Harlem

My boots in Central Park... Best nap ever.

Cute decor inside Lido Harlem

Mussels provence (with fava beans)... Delish.

Gigi's spaghetti with veal meatballs.

Walking through Times Square

Amy Ruth's chicken and waffles with macaroni and cheese. Heaven!

Brunch at The Farm on Adderley in Brooklyn... Eggs Benedict with herring and hash. (everything's organic and yummy)

 

French toast at The Farm on Adderley

 

Brunch (Part 2) French toast at Yatenga in Harlem (too soggy, sent it back)

 

Decor in Yatenga (I love the shabby chic look of the place)

We waited for brunch to end so I could order mussels. (I think I'm falling in love with mussels)

 

Yatenga

 

I kinda love this mirror (they need to find a cutesy soap dispenser)

The weathered look of the dresser is just gorgeous. The sink is cool, too. Very summer-homey.

 

The replacement to the french toast. Yummy pancakes 🙂

 

Conversation ran long, so we ordered Spicy Mussels. Yum!

 

Caught up with a writer friend of mine. Good times with Saul 🙂

 

I killed those mussels. I really want to try this recipe.

 

I wanted to steal Saul's hat.

 

Love the hat. Thanks, Saul ❤

Until next time, NY 🙂

The next time you’re in NY, make sure to check out these places:

Queen of Sheba Ethiopian Restaurant

650 10th Avenue

Amy Ruth’s

113 West 116th Street
Harlem, NY

Lido Harlem

2168 8th Avenue
New York, NY 10026

Yatenga French Bistro & Bar

2269 Adam Clayton Powell Blvd.

Harlem, NY

The Farm on Adderley 

1108 Cortelyou Road
Brooklyn, NY

 

Life is best lived and I’m livin’!!!

 

Until next time,

Sepia ❤

 

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Sepia in NYC

  1. Hope Amber says:

    I love Yatenga! I went there a few months ago with some friends – great vibe. And, have you ever tried Zoma in Harlem for Ethiopian food? Yumness! P.S. Your writer friend, Saul, is pretty nice on the eyes! (just sayin’) 🙂 I love Harlem – glad you had a good time visiting.

    • sepiabrown says:

      Thanks Hope Amber!
      I’ll have to try Zoma next time I’m in NY. I absolutely love Ethiopian food.
      Saul is a cool guy. I’ll let him know what you said. He’s a great writer… pretty deep. Oh, did I say he was single?
      It’s a lot different in the city from when I lived there almost 2 years ago. Maybe I’m accustomed to the slow Southern life of Miami?

      Thanks again for stopping by

      Sepia

  2. Hope Amber says:

    Yes, I was introduced to Ethiopian food at Zoma and enjoyed it. LOL@ your comments about Saul – nothing wrong with friendly flirtation, right? Anyway, I’m glad I came across your blog – good stuff! I’ll be reading …:)

  3. Cayenne says:

    Sounds like a fabulous time! I love the Food Visuals! Makes me want to eat my way through NYC.

Leave a Reply

