Choose Love.

So, I typed a text to this boy I used to see. Told him that I chose this cutie pie with whom I wanna be. And I apologize if this message gets you down. Then I cc’d every boy that I’d see-see round town.

Well, I didn’t really go like that, but I really love the lyrics of that song and I can only imagine how many other writers, bloggers, typists, etc have chosen those words to open up a post of some sort. It’s been a while since I’ve blogged about me.  I tend to lean towards the vague and general these days or just keep my words to myself. But today’s different. It’s about celebration! Whooo hooo!

Two months ago to the date, I turned 30. While to some this is a huge milestone, for me it was just the beginning. Every year, my birthday signifies a change of some sort. I attempt to become better at something. I find that when I change one thing I’m vastly more successful than when I make a laundry list of all the things I need to adjust. This year, I decided to adjust my outlook and choose to love. In the past I’ve run away from love, run love away, or just refused to love. Well, maybe I loved selectively. Year 30 meant loving unconditionally and not allowing anything to hinder my walk. It meant loving myself, my family, friends, everyone MORE!

With unconditional love comes change.

One month ago to the date, I traded my boyfriend in for a husband. Yep, I am now Mrs. Rumplestilskin! It’s quite possibly the best decision I’ve made in the past thirty days. Choosing love allowed me to open my heart and not fear the consequences. We consulted with God and no one else and just did it! No year-long engagement or fussing with bridesmaids. We decided on a date that was significant to us both and went for it.

A “subliminal” photo I posted to my instagram on the day I got married. Caption: Something old, something new, something borrowed, something blue.

In front of God,  my mom, sister, the mother of my child*, my BFF, and the Clerk of the Courts, I vowed to Rumple that I would love, honor, respect, obey, and trust him for the rest of my natural life. There was no pomp and circumstance. I did things the way I always thought they would be done: In high heels and big hair!

Rumplestilskin and I, signing our lives away; one to another! Yay!

A year ago, I didn’t think turning 30 would coincide with me becoming a wife. (Just reading that sentence makes it all the more heavy!) But it happened and I couldn’t be happier. I think back to all the tears I shed on account of me being unhappy in relationships past and all the doubts I had about myself and my abilities and I now understand the purpose behind them. I had to grow into who God wanted me to be and fully accept myself before He would send someone, The One, for me. This is no prescription for How to go from being single to married in less than one year, but it’s what worked for me.

Every day that I wake up next to my best friend I am more blessed than the day before. I am ever so grateful for God sending me a man who accepts me for being me (and that’s saying a lot). He is truly my best friend. He’s patient, understanding, hilarious, sensitive, protective, supportive, loyal, and willing to grow. He allows me to make mistakes and we learn together. In asking God for a mate I wasn’t long-winded. I simply asked for a man who would encompass that 1 Corinthians 13 kinda love and I got it, thank God.

I hope to look back at this post one day and edit it to add only the ways in which we both have grown. I look forward to more opportunities to love and share love with this man. What I once thought was love may have been but not to this extent.

Not only is he my husband, best friend, partner in crime, boothang-truethang, fellow foodie, Bible study companion, and personal comedian, but he’s my team mate in love.

Choose Love.

Chanell Nicole♥

* The mother of my child is my adopted daughter’s/niece’s mother. Not to get it twisted, ha!
Tagged , , , , , , , ,

12 thoughts on “Choose Love.

  1. Great Post, Chanell Nicole! Cheers to a lifetime of love and happiness!

  2. Aundra says:

    Yesssss ma’am! I LOVE IT and I’m so happy for you! I feel like I’ve been the fly on the wall by reading your blogs and the culmination is just…girl look at God! That’s all I can say. The plan He has ALWAYS blows our own out of the water. Congratulations on becoming Mrs. Rumplestiltskin! May your union be continually blessed and grow in LOVE! 🙂

  3. amazinglyawkward says:

    I’m glad you chose love! Great post!! Keep doing what you do. Express yourself, your thoughts, your feelings. This is your gift. Share you! xoxo

  4. Makisha says:

    CONGRATULATIONS & MANY BLESSINGS to you and your boo-thang!

  5. ReDonn says:

    I am super happy for you, I pray for the happiness of my family and it appears that my prayers have been answered! Luv Ya!

  6. Suka Nicolas says:

    Congratulations Chanell!!! What a blessing, may God continue to bless your union. Such a beautiful post!!!!

  7. ifreenaturally says:

    Beautifully written! Congratulations! I wish you all the best in your life together!!

  8. A Sassy Woman says:

    Awwwwwwww!!! I knew something was up! Congrats my love!! I wish nothing but happiness for you and your husband! I am extremely happy for you and may God continue to bless you two!

    With love,
    Ashley
    ASassyWoman.Com

  9. Hi Chanell! So glad I found your blog. Congrats on turning 30 and marrying your best friend. So much goodness happening all at the same time. Thanks for the reminder to choose love. I have to be intentional about doing that very thing.

Leave a comment