Naturals in the Sun + My First OOTD

Happy Monday!

It’s October. This year is zooming by, right? It’s supposed to be fall but the weather in South Florida is anything but cool. We’re wavering between hot and rainy (much like the rest of the year). I’m actually looking forward to cooler temperatures and the chance to cover up just a bit.

This weekend, I attended the 1 Year Anniversary Party of Naturals in the Sun, an awesome South Florida natural hair group. I had previously met the founders at a CurlBox event in July and they were so nice. They have a group support page on Facebook as well as a fan page. So, if you’re interested in all things natural in South Florida, go”Like” them —> Naturals in the Sun

I didn’t get many pics at the event because I was busy chatting it up with friends. I ran into so many of the ladies I met at the CurlBox event. In addition to seeing my South Florida friends, I also had the chance to speak with my Insta-friends (who are also on YouTube) @floridanatural83, @dearnatural62, @jamerican_gal, and @cocojheanell (of Love, Loss, and Lacquer  – check out her blog).

The event was hosted by CharyJay, quite possibly the sweetest YouTuber I’ve met. (Side note: CharyJay saved my hair life! Her bantu knot out tutorial is EVERYTHING. I’m not one to do too many styles on my own so finding her on YT helped a great deal.) She shared her natural journey and encouraged aspiring vloggers to go for it – no matter what “it” is! That was inspiring and pushed me a bit (who knows, maybe I’ll start a vlog?)

 

 

There were great vendors (sorry no photos) and tons of beautiful naturalistas! The event ended with a panel discussion on natural hair issues. The panelists all had different hair textures and stories of their roads to natural.

This was a great upstart event for South Florida. I can see great things coming from the Naturals in the Sun group. I’ll be sure to attend more of their events in the future.

 

Oh, and before I go, here’s my very first B-OOTD (Bump Outfit of the Day)

I tried on this dress at Target about two weeks ago and I knew I’d wear it at the Naturals in the Sun event. The orange color was just perfect for a sunny day. It’s by Liz Lange  for Target Maternity and is reasonably priced at just under $30.

It comes in black w/ taupe stripes and of course I bought that version as well. I can see myself wearing this dress after the baby as well. It’s very well made and accentuates my growing curves!

 

My shoes are by Chinese Laundry. I found them the morning before the event at Ross. Such a score at only $27!

They’re wedges in a nude color. The shoes were very easy to walk in but I haven’t worn heels on a consistent basis in quite some time. I loved the entire look and added bronze earrings and a mashup of bracelets from Target and H&M.

Hope you enjoyed my first B-OOTD. I was excited to share it with you all. I don’t usually post about my clothes or anything but maybe it’ll be a new feature. Maybe. It was great to dress up and feel just as good as I looked. I had a glow and a pure happiness thanks to Little Miss Sunshine growing inside.

 

Be Blessed.

 

Chanell Nicole ♥

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Naturals in the Sun + My First OOTD

  1. Chanell you worked that dress honey! I saw the black printed one at Target but was too lazy to try it on so I left it. Now I might run back to get it, lol. It was great seeing you and thank you for sharing the link to my blog. Hopefully we’ll see each other soon 😉

Leave a Reply

