A Mommy Story featuring Juanita and Darby

Good Morning! As promised, here’s today’s Mommy Story. This story is close to my heart because I know the baby. She’s not such a baby anymore as she is a tenth grader now, and one of my former students. I find motherhood fascinating and as I count down the days to my delivery, hearing real stories makes it more relatable. Hope you enjoy.

Juanita Darby Sankovich is an accountant and manager who was born and raised in North Miami Beach, Florida. She currently resides in North Miami Beach with her husband and three daughters.  Here, she tells us of her third, and final pregnancy of Darby Noel, born July 11, 1997.

How did you find out you were pregnant?

Since it was my 3rd pregnancy, I felt ill and went to the gyno and low and behold I was pregnant.


What were your first thoughts when you found out you were expecting again?
I was still in a state of shock because my second pregnancy was very painful. I started crying in the office and  I was scared to death. I told my gyno about my previous pregnancy and he reassured every thing would be smoother. I cried to my husband and was scared the rest of the 8 months.

Juanita, mother of Jezzika, Amethyst, and Darby.


Did you have any complications with your pregnancy?
None whatsoever with Darby.
What do you remember most about being pregnant? Getting fat, and the feeling of them kicking and elbowing me and I could see their little footprints on my belly when they did.

What misconceptions did you have about being pregnant? Cravings. There were always these stories about weird cravings at all hours and I never had them at all.
What do you enjoy most about being a mom? My kids, I have three of the greatest girls  in the world and I wouldn’t be able to say I am a mom  without them so what I enjoy most are my girls.

 

How has your life changed since becoming a mom? Life to me seemed to change totally. I had to be more responsible, no spur of the moment fly away weekends, no all-night parties and trying to remember the next morning how you got home, couldn’t call in sick and miss a day, needed the full week’s check, and my life changed because I now had a meaningful purpose in life. I found my calling and that was to be a great mom!
What are the names  of your child(ren)? Jezzika Frances, Amethyst-Marie Nicole and the one and only Darby Noel

Juanita’s three girls. Jezzika (left), Amethyst (right) Darby (middle)

Describe your child’s personality.  Darby – she is a tough cookie and very bright – for being a tiny girl she takes no crap from anyone. She is very funny and spur of the moment with her wit. She does have a quick attitude, but I know one thing for sure I don’t have to worry about her. She holds her own and is a leader for sure ( hoping to be the 1st woman president) and stands up for what she believes in.

Darby Noel

What would you like for your child to experience that you never did? Travel more and  see the world.  It is an amazing place – follow her dreams and become what she truly wants to be – I didn’t.  I wanted to be a child psychologist in jails or a guidance counselor or work with the minds.  I want her to follow her dreams so she can forever be happy and never live with the “What if?”.
What’s something you said you wouldn’t do as a parent that you find yourself doing? Honestly, growing up I did not want kids, and here I am a mom to three. I don’t do anything that I never said I wouldn’t.  I am their friend,  their mother,  and backbone.  I don’t hide anything or pretend like some parents I know – that act like to their kids they were perfect and never did wrong; well I don’t.  Some parents don’t like that about me but tough luck it worked well for me I have honest kids.
How did you feel when it was time for you to give birth?  Scared outta my mind!
 What was your laboring/birthing method? Natural, C-section, pain medications? Natural (vaginal) and epidural.

Darby as a baby. How cute!

Did you have a birth plan? Well with Darby I picked my day and was induced (because my doctor was going on vacation and I wanted him to deliver).  We planned the morning. I would come in like I was in labor and he’d be at the front nurses desk waiting. Shortly after I arrived, he broke my water and had my epidural waiting. The rest was smooth sailing from there.

 

 How do you manage mommyhood, work, and a social life? Once you have your child and I believe when you realize how much that little life needs you everything falls into place and works out naturally.

Darby & Amethyst on Halloween many moons ago.

Do you plan on having any more children?  NOOOOOOOOOOOOOO WAYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY
Anything else you would like to share? For someone like me, who never wanted children, I wouldn’t change it for the world. It’s not easy and you have to give up a lot, but when you realize they (your children) are the future it, makes it  a lot easier I think.  I was 24 when I had my first one – a single mom didn’t know if I should keep her or not. When I did it was tough but what has made my life as a mom easier was the moment they put Jezzika in my arms and I looked at her tiny little face at just an hour old and started to cry saying, “ what have I done to you? – I can’t do this! I ain’t mom material!”– I was crying like I did the wrong thing, I was scared and afraid of ruining that little girl’s life, and at that moment, she opened her eyes and smiled with a look (as God as my witness) as If saying it’s going to be ok, WE can do this together and from that moment being a mom was the best thing that has ever happened to me.

Darby & Amethyst being giggly little kids.

Okay, so, either I’m hormonal, or that was a beautiful Mommy story. Juanita’s story helped put a lot into perspective for me. What I loved most was her honesty and willingness to accept her imperfections. I found it cool to know she gave her daughter her maiden name for a first name (I’ve always loved the name Darby. Fun fact: Beyonce is actually her mom’s maiden name, too!)

Through Juanita’s story I learned that being a mom is about putting yourself in a position to love unconditionally. That’s what being a mom is about. While I won’t have all the answers, I strive to be honest, loving, and caring through it all.

Darby and I at the 8th grade dance in 2010.

In knowing Darby I can see the strength of her mother. Darby is an amazing young lady with confidence out of this world. Having spent time with her outside of school, she showed me that great things do come in small packages. She is a typical teenager with a heart of gold and I see great things for her. I’m sure she can attribute much of her success to her mom, Juanita, and the support she gives.

Darby the cool kid 🙂

What are your thoughts on Juanita’s story? Comment. Share. Show Love.

Thanks again Juanita and Darby.

If you have a mommy/birth story to share. Feel free to email me at chanellnicoleinc@gmail.com. Look forward to hearing from you. 

Until next time. Be blessed and Live Well.

Chanell Nicole♥

Tagged , , , ,

3 thoughts on “A Mommy Story featuring Juanita and Darby

  1. JUANITA DARBY SANKOVICH says:

    I HAVE A COMMENT ON MY OWN STORY – IF THATS OK! AND I FEEL GREAT THAT YOU GOT FROM MY STORY THE ONE THING THAT I FEEL IS THE MOST IMPORTANT THING TO BEINGA GREAT MOM AND RAISING WONDERFUL CHILDREN – LOVE THEM UNCONDITIONALLY AT ALL TIMES, WHEN THEIR HEARTIS BROKE DON’T BE ANGRY AT WHO BROKE IT BE THERE TO HELP MEND THEIRS AND REALIZE THEY ARE JUST LIVING LIFE – AS REMEMEBR WHO YOU WERE AT THAT AGE – AND WHAT YOU WISH YOU HAD TO HELP YOU THROUGH – KIDS WILL ALWAYS DO THINGS WE FIND DUMB BUT THE ONLY REASON WE DO IS CAUSE WE ARE OLDER AND WISER – I CAN ALWAYS ALWAYS BE THEIR BEST FRIEND FIRST AND THE PARENT AND YOU WILL A LWAYS BE FIRST TO KNOW THINGS THAT YOU REALLY NEED TO CAUSE THEY WON’T BE AFRAID TO TELL THEIR PARENT THEY WILL BE TELLING THEIR BEST FRIEND KIDS ARE THE MOST AMAZING THING IN THIS WORLD EACH DIFFERENT IN MANY WAYS THEY WILL MAKE YOULAUGH MAKE YOU CRY AND FOR SURE MAKE YOU WANT TO CHOKE THEM AT TIMES ( HHAHAH) BUT IN THE WHOLE PACKAGE I WOULDNT CHANGE MY GIRLS FOR ANYTHING IN THIS WORLD!! GOOD LUCK MS CHANELL NICOLE I AM HERE FOR ANYTHING YOU MIGHT EVER NEED AND I WANNA SAY FROM KNOWING AND AND HOW YOU BEING A TEACHER TOUCHED MY DARBY’S HEART I KNOW YOU ARE GOING TO BE THE MOST AMAZING MOM IN THE WORLD OH AND FOR THE RECORD I GAVE DARBY MY MAIDEN NAME FOR THE SIMPLE FACT SHE WAS AT ONE POINT A BOY ( SO I WAS TOLD BY SHE WAS GIVING THUMBS UP TO TEH WORLD AND HADN’T EVEN CAME INTO ( I KNEW THEN SHE WAS S GOING TO BE A LEADER) BUT I DIDNT HAVE ANY BOYS TO GIVE PART OF MY DADDY’S NAME SO I GAVE HER HIS LAST NAME!!

  2. Christina says:

    Reading this I have to make mental notes to myself for what to do and not to do when I am pregnant and become a mother…and that is years from now.

  3. darby says:

    awwwwhhhhhh :,) how sweet

Leave a Reply

