Deadline

4:05 am – An early morning blog (yes, I was up  that early)

It’s 4:05 am, do you know where your baby is? Welp, mine is still in utero. I’m sure she’s nice and warm with little room to maneuver around. I still feel her kicks and pushes every now and again but she’s slowing down in preparation for her arrival. Today’s our due date. I’m officially 40 weeks pregnant! As I’ve learned, due dates mean absolutely nothing. I’m the first person I know to still be pregnant on her due date (and trust me, I’ve known my fair share of pregnant ladies).  The odds of me delivering today are pretty slim as only about 10% of women deliver on their due dates. Also, at my last appointment, I showed no progression towards labor.

 

I won’t get into the gory details, but I’ll say it was a bit frustrating. I’m ready to meet my little lady. I’ve had a few minor outbursts upon realizing that I may not meet my personally set delivery deadline but I’m okay now… for the moment. This pregnancy has taught me a lot about patience. I have not always been the most patient person (still something I’m working on) so this hurry up and wait game is a task for me.  In essence, I could safely carry her for another two weeks. I can’t wrap my mind around that, but if it’s what God wants, so be it. In the end, I want a healthy, happy, baby who looks like me. Nothing more, nothing less.

 

I have been given so much unsolicited advice in the past few days; most of which was obviously ineffective. I’ve done everything besides stand on my head and ingest castor oil and she’s still not here. Sure, I’ve had a few bouts of false labor but nothing really major. This pregnancy has been pretty regular so an induction probably won’t take place until next week unless she decides to come in the next few days.

 

Since I’ve been pregnant for the majority of the year, I can say I’m physically ready for it to come to an end. The gift has been wrapped and I’m ready to open it. But this is a different kind of gift It’s like waiting for God to answer your prayers. You must be ready to receive it because once you have it, it’s there. I’m thankful that I’ve been prepared (mentally, spiritually, emotionally, and financially – thank God for 3 baby showers !) for her arrival. If she had come any earlier, I might have lost it. All in all, I am respecting the process. Learning that time is not in my hands. In the meantime, I’ll enjoy the last few moments of life without a baby. I’ll rest well. (And possibly work on an end of the year post before I get too sleepy)

 

 

 

Thanks for stopping by. Keep me in your prayers.

 

Until next time, Live Well and Be Blessed.

 

Chanell Nicole♥

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

