From Chanell to Mommy

In a matter of moments, my life will change forever. It all seems so surreal. I feel unprepared; rightly so because it is the unexpected. Motherhood hasn’t always been on my radar. To be completely honest, I thought I’d be the Eternal Aunt! The woman who watched kids on weekends only and returned to sender when it was convenient for me.

In a matter of days, this will change forever. Like, permanently. I welcome the change with open arms and I have no idea what to look forward to. Having always been a risk taker, it’s weird that I feel a little afraid. I can admit that.

Over the past month, I’ve chronicled the delivery and mommy stories of a few women. Even reading their tales of motherhood, loss, and triumph, I have no idea what to expect. Their stories are theirs. Mine will be mine. There’s no manual on how to be a great mother because we all deal with life differently.

My belly photo. Photo credit: B. Taylor Photography http://b-taylorphotography.com/maternity-sneak-peak/

My belly photo.
Photo credit: B. Taylor Photography http://b-taylorphotography.com/maternity-sneak-peak/

I have had an awesome example of what it means to be a mother. My own mom was liberal, jovial, frank, hard-working and easy-going. She was not perfect but she was an AMAZING mom; still is. She is the epitome of sacrifice and love. In becoming a mom myself, I think back to how hard it was raising ME!

I also know quite a few great moms; young and old. It amazes me how much consideration for another human being goes into being a mother. It is such a heavy charge that God has placed in front of me.

I must keep in mind that I will make mistakes and do things that others may question but in the end, I am human. I will mother my child the way God leads me to. This may not fly with everyone but she will be MY CHILD. I will attempt to make the best decisions and be an example of what a woman should be. I may fail at some things but I will show my child love. I haven’t quite wrapped my mind around everything it takes to be a mom, but I hear it’s a learn by doing sorta thing.

So, to every mother out there, I’m ready to join the ranks of the greatest sorority in the world! I will fulfill my God-given purpose of womanhood and bring forth the greatest fruit ever: A CHILD! Embarking on motherhood has erased every judgmental thought I have ever had about the way that stranger in the store handled a screaming toddler. Now I know, it could very well be me.

 

I ask for prayers on behalf of my family as we welcome The Baby!

Thanks for reading, subscribing, commenting, and showing love.
Until next time.  Live Well and Be Blessed.

 

Chanell Nicole ♥

Tagged , , , , , , ,

One thought on “From Chanell to Mommy

  1. alexzina says:

    Your family is in my prayers!!! I know you will be an awesome mommy!!! I say that a lot but I actually mean it this time. lol 😀 I feel it in my child-free bones!! CONGRATS AGAIN!

Leave a Reply

