Random Blog #2

So, I’ve been a parent for close to 8 weeks now. What a rollercoaster ride it has been. There’s so much to learn, absorb, and apply. I learn a new lesson or two or three every single day. Just last night, while preparing the family to go to evening service for the first time since having the baby, we got a little scare. The baby was inconsolable and would not eat. She just cried, squirmed, and screamed some more.

As new parents, we were puzzled. None of the tried and true techniques worked. My mother in law even tried applying her personal touch but that didn’t work either. After two hours of tears, jerks, and attempted feedings, we decided to go to the E.R.

 

Upon arrival to the E.R., I had to write down her symptoms: woke up screaming, inconsolable, puts hand to mouth, turning head side to side, won’t take breast, temperature. My mother in law had thought she may have had an ear infection and to be sure, we wanted to let the professionals have the final say.

The Patient Care Assistant called us in and began taking her vitals. Daddy had left her pacifier (yay, she’s taking a pacifier now!) in the car, so she began screaming. “Would you like a pacifier for her?” the PCA asked.

“Sure, but that wasn’t working for us earlier,” I replied.

In an instant, Baby BK calmed down.

Her temperature  and blood pressure were fine but we still had to take her to a room to be examined by the doctor. The nurse dressed her in the cutest little hospital gown and  picked her up. Baby BK began cooing and laughing upon examination. “There’s nothing wrong here. She’s just growing,” the nurse said. “But I’m not the doctor so stay  put, he’ll examine her further.

She left and Baby BK laughed and wiggled while we waited for the doctor to arrive.

“I think she just wanted to take a trip to this hospital,” I joked with The Husband.

In the end, we were given a prognosis of Classic First Time Parents. There was nothing wrong with the baby. She just wanted to be in a new environment, I suppose. My motherly instincts were in overdrive and I would rather be safe than sorry.

In hindsight, it was kinda funny; but seeing your baby suffer to no end is the worst feeling. I am so grateful nothing was wrong but I’m sure she enjoyed her first trip to the E.R.

 

Until next time, Be Blessed and Live Well.

 

Chanell Nicole♥

Tagged , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Random Blog #2

  1. Tori says:

    Lol…happy to hear baby BK is doing well!!! Praise God!

  2. Wow!!!! Thanks for sharing!!!! Oh, I know youre on your social networking hiatus so Im not sure if you know, but Im having a Girl!!!!!!! Due July 27th : )

  3. Carla says:

    I love reading your blog! Glad your little princess is doing well and I must say, I read your blog first thing this morning and had to laugh at “She’s just growing” and “we were given a prognosis of Classic First Time Parents!” Before long you’ll be writing a book for other 1st time parents!

  4. NieCat says:

    I am reading this and going back 22 years ago!
    LOL
    Next time,put her in the car and drive around the block. One of you drive and the other sit in the back with her. She will fall assleep and then, you can leave her in the car seat sleep. That is what we use to do with my GrandHon! Many a nights around this age she slept in her bouncer. It was the ONLY thing that use to comfort her! I am Proud of you!

    Happy Parenting,
    Coach Arthur

Leave a Reply

